Cellar Release
checking stock ...

2010 Lucien Le Moine Nuits-St.-Georges 1er Cru Les Cailles

BurgundyRedHighly RecommendInternationalNew ArrivalsPrivate Cellar

$ 450.00 AUD


From 50 year old vines from the Premier Cru Les Cailles vineyard on east/south-east facing slopes, south of the village of Nuits-St-Georges. The name Les Cailles refers to the rocky soils and the limestone quarries.

Region - Burgundy

Type - Red

Year - 2010

Winery - Burgundy

Grape - Pinot Noir

Volume - Standard - 750ml

About the wine

Tasting notes

Good deep red. Expressive nose of red cherry, minerals, crushed stone and high-pitched spices. Broad, sweet and fine-grained; really spreads out to saturate the mouth, but with terrific acid/tannin support keeping the wine fresh and alive. Very long on the aftertaste, with the red cherry character following through.

Wine descriptors

Captivating and Complex, Elegant and Fine, For the Cellar, Smooth and Seductive, Something Special

Fruit aromas & flavour

Cherries, Dark Berries, Red Berries

Other aromas & flavour

Earth, Florals, Herbals, Meaty, Minerality, Oak, Spices

Body type




Food pairings





Red Meat







Spicy Foods

Cured Meats


Expert review

A superbly complex nose that is one of the broadest in the entire range implicates a panoply of elements that range from spice to a mix of dark berries to earth to the sauvage and more. The seductively textured, refined and wonderfully rich middle weight flavors possess stunning length. This gorgeous combination of power and finesse display that highly attractive sense of underlying tension that imparts real vitality to the finish. *Outstanding*

Allen Meadows - Burghound

The Grape

Pinot Noir

Pinot noir (French: [pino nwaʁ]) is a red-wine grape variety whose name roughly translates to describe the tight clusters of a pine cone. Its home is France's Burgundy region, particularly Côte-d'Or. It is also planted in Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, northern parts of Croatia, Czech Republic, England, the Republic of Georgia, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Hungary, Kosovo, the Republic of Macedonia, Moldova, New Zealand, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Switzerland, Ukraine, United States, and Uruguay.