Cellar Release
checking stock ...

2018 Armand Rousseau Clos de la Roche Grand Cru

BurgundyRedHighly RecommendInternationalPrivate Cellar

$ 2000.00$ 1750.00 AUD


For four generations, the Rousseau family has worked tirelessly and passionately on some of the finest terroirs of the Côte de Nuits to produce incredible wines that are held as benchmarks for all of Burgundy. The wines of Rousseau are defined by their elegance, fine balance, complexity and marries pristine expressions of terroir with the heart of the winemaker.

Region - Burgundy

Type - Red

Year - 2018

Winery - Burgundy

Grape - Pinot Noir

Volume - Standard - 750ml

About the wine

Tasting notes

Wines from The Clos de la Roche vineyards are firm, deep and serious, closely akin to those from Chambertin. You'll find aromas of nutty earth and truffle , followed by intense red and black fruit. Wines made to age.

Wine descriptors

Captivating and Complex, Elegant and Fine, For the Cellar, Something Special

Fruit aromas & flavour

Cherries, Citrus, Dark Berries, Plum, Red Berries

Other aromas & flavour

Earth, Florals, Meaty, Minerality, Spices

Body type




Food pairings





Red Meat







Spicy Foods

Cured Meats


Expert review

A more elegant if not more complex nose merges pretty aromas of red and dark currant, a plenitude of floral elements along with hints of leather, sandalwood and earth. There is outstanding intensity to the supple mid-palate of the big-bodied flavors that firm up substantially and immediately on the lingering and highly complex finish. The supporting tannins are slightly spiky today but because they seem phenolically mature, I suspect that they will mellow out with time in bottle.


The Grape

Pinot Noir

Pinot noir (French: [pino nwaʁ]) is a red-wine grape variety whose name roughly translates to describe the tight clusters of a pine cone. Its home is France's Burgundy region, particularly Côte-d'Or. It is also planted in Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, northern parts of Croatia, Czech Republic, England, the Republic of Georgia, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Hungary, Kosovo, the Republic of Macedonia, Moldova, New Zealand, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Switzerland, Ukraine, United States, and Uruguay.